Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Appointment of Heads of the Departments of the New Faculty of Engineering

Following the approval of UGC and the subsequent publication of the Gazette Extraordinary under the signature of the Hon. Minister of Higher Education and Highways, a Faculty of Engineering was formally establiished at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.

The Vice Chancellor Prof. Sampath Amaratunge, handed over the Letters of Appointment to the first Heads of each Department of Study in the Faculty.

Acting Dean/ Head of the Department of Computer Engineering:
Dr. S. A. A. M. Subasinghe

Head of the Department of Civil Engineering/ Actg. Head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering:
Dr. K. M. C. Konthesingha

Head of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering:
Dr. C. de Alwis

Head of the Department of Interdisciplinary Studies:
Dr. M. Mohamed

After congratulating the newly appointed Heads of Departments, the Vice Chancellor wished them well and expressed his desire that they would contribute their best towards the Faculty and the University. Prof. N. R. Arthenayake, who is the Lead Consultant for the Faculty of Engineering was also present on the occasion and wished them well.