Dean’s Message


The Faculty of Engineering of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura is the latest addition to the engineering faculties of the state-owned universities in Sri Lanka.

The faculty at present offers the Bachelor of the Science of Engineering degree in four disciplines. The disciplines offered are Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. The curricula of each of these disciplines follow locally and internationally recognised standards. The students also get the advantage of choosing to follow a minor subject area from an emerging field of engineering that meets the current needs of the industry. The innovative education offered by the faculty prepares the undergraduates following the degree program to make a difference in Sri Lanka and the world.

In addition, the faculty offers research degrees leading to Master of Philosophy and Doctor of Philosophy in various Engineering disciplines. Since its establishment, the Faculty of Engineering has developed many associations with leading international universities and industries. As the need for multidisciplinary education and research increase, the faculty benefits from the diverse fields of study and resources available at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.
Although the Faculty currently functions in temporary locations at Ratmalana and Rawathawattha, the student and staff enjoy resourceful and friendly teaching and learning environment. The faculty aims to move to its permanent premises in Mattegoda, Kottawa with state-of-the-art facilities in the near future. I encourage you to explore all that the faculty has to offer.


Dr. Nishan Dharmaweera
Dean of the Faculty of Engineering